California’s Proposed Short Term Rental Ban Amended to Unfairly Single Out San Diego

 In Update

Assemblymeber Tasha Horvath has introduced AB 1731, a bill supported by the hotel industry that would have restricted short-term rentals across California’s coastal zones to only 30 days per year when the homeowner does not live on site full time. Many stood up to oppose this bill, but the politicians in Sacramento have made last minute amendments to unjustly target only San Diego County’s coastal zone.

Last year, just under 62,000 voters in San Diego came together to oppose a similar unjust taking of property rights that would have limited short-term rentals. This Assembly Bill circumvents the voice of San Diego voters and our locally elected officials.

The Assembly’s Judiciary Committee will vote on this bill tomorrow, Tuesday, April 9, during its 9:00 a.m. hearing at the State Capitol, Room 126. We encourage short-term rental supporters to attend and voice their opposition to AB 1731.

If you are unable to attend the meeting in person, please write to the Judiciary Committee and San Diego County legislators to ask them not to support AB 1731 because it would severely restrict local property rights and harm our local economy.

Judiciary Committee:

  • Assemblymember Mark Stone (Chair)
  • Assemblymember James Gallagher (Vice Chair)
  • Assemblymember Ed Chau
  • Assemblymember David Chiu
  • Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez
  • Assemblymember Chris R. Holden
  • Assemblymember Ash Kalra
  • Assemblymember Kevin Kiley
  • Assemblymember Brian Maienschein
  • Assemblymember Jay Obernolte
  • Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris
  • Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes

And their emails:

  • assemblymember.stone@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.gallagher@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.chau@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.chiu@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.gonzalezfletcher@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.holden@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.kalra@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.kiley@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.maienschein@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.obernolte@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.norris@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.reyes@assembly.ca.gov

San Diego County Legislators:

  • Assemblymember Tasha Boerner Horvath
  • Assemblymember Randy Voepel
  • Assemblymember Marie Waldron
  • Assemblymember Todd Gloria
  • Assemblymember Shirley Weber
  • Senator Patricia Bates
  • Senator Brian Jones
  • Senator Toni Atkins
  • Senator Ben Hueso

And their emails:

  • assemblymember.horvath@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.voepel@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.waldron@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.gloria@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.weber@assembly.ca.gov
  • senator.bates@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.jones@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.atkins@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.hueso@senate.ca.gov
Recent Posts
Stay in touch

We'll keep you posted on the latest.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt