California State Assembly Natural Resource Committee Approves San Diego County STR Ban

 In Update

Earlier this week the State Assembly’s Natural Resource Committee voted 6-3 in favor of Assemblymember Tasha Boerner Horvath’s bill to restrict short-term rentals to just 30-days per year along San Diego County’s coast. The bill is now being referred to the State Assembly Appropriations Committee for a third reading.

Several members of Share San Diego made the trip to Sacramento to voice our objection to the bill, because it is a dramatic overreach that strips away both individual property rights and the ability of local communities to create legislation that works for them. It does not take into consideration San Diego’s 100 year history of supporting short-term rentals in areas like Mission Beach. Instead, the bill limits affordable accommodations for visiting families and destroys the thousands of jobs vacation rentals create each year.

We are continuing to fight the bill and hope the Appropriations Committee will recognize its flaws, but we need your help. Please call the offices of the Committee members and ask them to oppose AB 1731.

  • Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (Chair) (916) 319-2080
  • Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (Vice Chair) (916) 319-2005
  • Assemblymember Richard Bloom (916) 319-2050
  • Assemblymember Rob Bonta (916) 319-2018
  • Assemblymember William P. Brough (916) 319-2073
  • Assemblymember Ian C. Calderon (916) 319-2057
  • Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo (916) 319-2051
  • Assemblymember Ed Chau (916) 319-2049
  • Assemblymember Tyler Diep (916) 319-2072
  • Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman (916) 319-2013
  • Assemblymember Vince Fong (916) 319-2034
  • Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel (916) 319-2045
  • Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (916) 319-2056
  • Assemblymember Brian Maienschein (916) 319-2077
  • Assemblymember Jay Obernolte (916) 319-2033
  • Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris (916) 319-2074
  • Assemblymember Bill Quirk (916) 319-2020
  • Assemblymember Robert Rivas (916) 319-2030

San Diego County Legislators

  • Assemblymember Tasha Boerner Horvath
  • Assemblymember Randy Voepel
  • Assemblymember Marie Waldron
  • Assemblymember Todd Gloria
  • Assemblymember Shirley Weber
  • Senator Patricia Bates
  • Senator Brian Jones
  • Senator Toni Atkins
  • Senator Ben Hueso

And their emails:

  • assemblymember.horvath@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.voepel@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.waldron@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.gloria@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.weber@assembly.ca.gov
  • senator.bates@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.jones@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.atkins@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.hueso@senate.ca.gov
Recent Posts
Stay in touch

We'll keep you posted on the latest.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt