California State Assembly Judiciary Committee Approves San Diego County STR Ban

 In Update

Yesterday, the politicians in Sacramento voted 8-3 to allow AB 1731 to move forward towards a vote on the Assembly floor. The bill, which was introduced by Assemblymember Tasha Horvath, unfairly singles out San Diego County’s coast in an attempt to limit short-term rentals to only 30-days per year when the owner does not live onsite full time.

If approved, AB 1731 would have a disastrous effect on communities such as Mission Beach, which have hosted short-term rentals and visitors for more than 100 years.

The bill is scheduled to be reviewed by the Assembly’s Committee on Natural Resources at a date to be determined. We ask that you take a stand by contacting the Committee and most importantly the legislators from San Diego to tell them you disapprove of a bill that would so unjustly hurt local businesses and limit affordable accommodations along San Diego County’s coast for visiting families.

Natural Resources Committee:

  • Assemblymember Laura Friedman (Chair)
  • Assemblymember Heath Flora (Vice Chair)
  • Assemblymember Ed Chau
  • Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman
  • Assemblymember Cristina Garcia
  • Assemblymember Monique Limón
  • Assemblymember Devon J. Mathis
  • Assemblymember Kevin McCarty
  • Assemblymember Melissa A. Melendez
  • Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi
  • Assemblymember Mark Stone

And their emails:

  • assemblymember.friedman@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.flora@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.chau@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.talamantes-eggman@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.garcia@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.limon@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.mathis@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.mccarty@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.melendez@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.muratsuchi@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.stone@assembly.ca.gov

San Diego County Legislators:

  • Assemblymember Tasha Boerner Horvath
  • Assemblymember Randy Voepel
  • Assemblymember Marie Waldron
  • Assemblymember Todd Gloria
  • Assemblymember Shirley Weber
  • Senator Patricia Bates
  • Senator Brian Jones
  • Senator Toni Atkins
  • Senator Ben Hueso

And their emails:

  • assemblymember.horvath@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.voepel@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.waldron@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.gloria@assembly.ca.gov
  • assemblymember.weber@assembly.ca.gov
  • senator.bates@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.jones@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.atkins@senate.ca.gov
  • senator.hueso@senate.ca.gov
Recent Posts
Stay in touch

We'll keep you posted on the latest.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt