Coastal Commission declines to take a position on STR ban, here’s what’s next

 In News

Thank you all for the countless emails, and phone calls to the Coastal Commission that poured in ahead of Tuesday’s hearing. Dozens of you attended the hearing to urge the Commission to oppose AB 1731, and speak about the benefits of STRs. Unfortunately, the Commission abstained from taking a position on this bill despite our passionate pleas. However, your voices were heard in the news, and even by the Assemblymember herself.

Our next step is to focus on the Senate’s Judiciary Committee, who will be reviewing the bill’s merits and deciding if it should continue in the Senate or be stopped. Our hope is the Senate Committee will recognize the negative effects the bill will have on the region and prevent it from moving forward, but we need you to once again write letters to oppose AB 1731.

Provided below are the Senate Judiciary Committee’s email addresses. Please write to them to explain why you support STRs and oppose AB 1731 before the end of Friday so that your correspondence is tallied for the Committee’s staff report ahead of their Tuesday, June 18, hearing:
Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (Chair)
Senator Andreas Borgeas (Vice Chair)
Senator Benjamin Allen
Senator Anna M. Caballero
Senator Brian W. Jones
Senator Bill Monning
Senator Henry I. Stern
Senator Thomas J. Umberg
Senator Bob Wieckowski

Here are their emails:
senator.jackson@senate.ca.gov
senator.borgeas@senate.ca.gov
senator.allen@senate.ca.gov
senator.caballero@senate.ca.gov
senator.jones@senate.ca.gov
senator.monning@senate.ca.gov
senator.stern@senate.ca.gov
senator.umberg@senate.ca.gov
senator.wieckowski@senate.ca.gov

Recent Posts
Stay in touch

We'll keep you posted on the latest.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt